The Planned Giving Blogger

The art and science of planned giving.

Learning the art of asking for a planned gift: Part II

leave a comment »

Yesterday I wrote about the importance of training gift offers in the softer side of asking.  Today, I’m going to talk about the other side of the coin.  Not the questions you ask donors but the questions they are likely to ask you.

Yesterday I attached an article from an issue of the Journal of Gift Planning that describes which questions to ask donors to elicit gift intentions and to identify the right kind of gift arrangement with guidance for how best to respond based on the donor’s answer.

At the AFP conference in Baltimore Harvey McKinnon described the questions you, as a gift officer, should expect to be asked by donors and be prepared to answer.  His presentation was reported in the online edition of The Nonprofit Times.  The article elaborates but here are the questions:

1.  Why me?

2.  Why are you asking me?

3.  Do I respect you?

4.  How much do you want?

5.  Why your organization?

6.  How will my gift make a difference?

7.  Is there an urgency to make a gift?

8.  How easy is it to give?

9.  How will I be treated?

10.  How will you measure success?

11.  Will I have a say in how you use my money?

Phyllis

Written by Phyllis Freedman

June 8, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

